And the Oscar Goes to……

Hello all.  This is my message to Jada Pinkett Smith and Spike Lee, and their foolish boycott of the Oscars for “lack of Nominee Diversity”.

First off, I thought that the Oscars were about the best performance? If the academy chooses to include films to bolster cultural diversity or meet a certain mandate, are these films really the “Best”?

The comments that have been made by Spike Lee, calling the awards the “lily White Awards” is most certainly a racist comment. Are this comments ok because he is black and feels that he is oppressed? Maybe it goes deeper than that.  Maybe its because he was nominated in 1989, and 1997 and didn’t win. That being said, Lee was given an Honorary Award as a champion of independent film in 2015

Maybe Pinkett-Smith is upset that her hubby didn’t get nominated, or has never won. Interestingly, the 2 times he was nominated for an Oscar he lost both time to men of color, both of which are much better actors ( Forest Whitaker and Denzel Washington)

I’ve seen many comments on how “White” Hollywood is. I disagree.  I think that there are many actors and people in the film industry that are of a race other than Caucasian. Many are quite accomplished and awarded rightly so.  Names like Sidney Poitier or Denzel Washington or Halle Berry.

In 2013 Chiwetel Ejiofor was nominated for 12 years a slave, that same year Barkhad Abdi was nominated for Captain Phillips. also in 2013 Lupita Nyong’o won the Oscar for Best Support Actress. Also that year, Steve McQueen won Best picture for 12 years A Slave, and John Ridley won best writing for the same film. As a matter of fact, 12 Years a Slave had 5 nominations and 3 wins in 2013.

In 2014 John Legend and Common won for best original Song.

Now it has occurred to me, and maybe it hasn’t dawned on these other people, but maybe, just maybe, the acting/producing/films done by those of other ethnic groups just weren’t as good as those done by others. The measure should not by ethnic group, it should be by quality of product.

I’m not a racist person, but these things anger me.  People will take any chance to exploit racism.  Saying that there all white people nominated shouldn’t make you scream racism, it should make you step up and do better. Is it that hard to think that maybe these people/movies were nominated because they were the best? Would you rather be nominated because you were the best, and not just the slot used to fill the token ethnic slot because you demanded a minimum ethnic mandate?

I think it is very difficult to eliminate racism, when those who accuse others of it, use it as a tool at every opportunity to get what they want.

I hope Jada and Spike do not attend the Oscars.  The “Lily White Awards” will be much better off without that negativity.

Lets honor the brightest and best in the industry for their skill, not their color

About Anthony Arsenault

I was born on a cold October day in 1975. My love for words became apparent to my family at a young age, when I took to reading, and always had to have a book. This love for books continued on, and soon I was putting my own words to paper. I was always a fan of creative writing, and often impressed my grade school teachers with my fantastic stories. At the age of 15, I wrote a poem called "Abused" for a grade 9 poetry assignment. The power of the poem brought the administration of the school to class room with a barrage of questions. Four years later I entered a contest sponsored by the Canadian Chamber of Contemporary Poetry. Of thousands of contestants, i was in the top 200, and had my poem "Bob" published in their anthology “Scaling the Face of Reason". This was my first true accomplishment, and my first published work. Since then I have been writing, and Have had a few articles and a poem entitled " A Letter to my Unborn Child" published by Parents for Parents Magazine. I am still writing, and recently published my first e-book, The Common Man's Guide to Women as Told by the Common Man, and a book of poetry called "Words Flow Eternal"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

